Quote Originally Posted by DW72 View Post
It sure can't! I'll post what I do when I get out there. I'm still learning and appreciate what is posted here to help. It's about 5 hours away for me and I do a few 3 day trips per season. I get my fish but it takes quite a while sometimes. I think I need to better on quicker turns to get back on biting fish.and going all in with more rods once a lead is established that is working. I'm improving on bandit colors based on water clarity and cloud coverage. I haven't been very good at high fish in deeper water...like 25-30 fow. I assume they are schools of eyes between 6 and 12 feet down because they are big marks?? I may not be high enough. How high above the fish have you all had luck pulling the cranks? 1-3 feet or more? I've never caught crap above 12 feet down from the surface unless I was in shallower around H Can. I usually seem to de best between F and Green Island. Leads 55-100 feet back with bandits unassisted. Thank you for the feedback if someone doesn't mind!
While it is true that trolling in a particular direction catches better than other directions,we rarely pick up our gear and drive back to start again.We will more often make quicker turns if we need to troll a particular direction to catch better.The few times we picked up our gear was due to rough wave conditions.When the waves reach 3-4 ft trolling, downwind is much easier than into the wind or even crosswind.That is when we sometimes pick up our gear.