3 questions 3 questions 3 questions 3 questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3 questions

Default 3 questions

1. What line/size/type seems best for perching on Lake Erie? I have perch fished my whole life on lake Michigan and 4 pnd mono has done me well, but them are bigger perch and the bite is not as lite as I have been experiencing on Erie. I'm fairly new to perching on Erie and there seems to be a big difference in techniques here. 2. is anyone using small spinners here for jumbo perch. That is how I always got the jumbo's back home. (chitown) 3. softclaws? back home this is all we used and I can't find them here. softclaws are the claws only and come 50 to a container. They out produce minnows bigtime (back home). Thanks in advance for any answers.

Everyone has their own preference, but mine is an ultra light rod with 30lb power pro braid tied to an in line sinker with a 1 foot give or take 20 lb mono leader tied to a # 4 or 6 plain hook.

Wow that is different.

I use a 6ft ultra light graphite rod with a 1000 size reel with 10lb braid. I use 15lb floro for the perch rig. Feels like a mac truck when you get a huge sheepshead. I always seem to catch big sheepshead and the occasional keeper walleye so I use the stronger line. People will probably make fun of me but a few weeks ago we spent a while just catching big sheeps head on our perch rigs I think it's a ton of fun catching 5-7lb fish on an ultra light rig.

Blog Entries

Default Perching

I usually keep 2 types of rods on board for Perch. An Ultra-Light 5' with 4 Lb test mono,and a 6' Ugly with 12 Lb mono. Usually you'll find the smaller Perch at this end and as the weather cools the bigger ones start to move in. I'll start the day with the UL and if we're over the Farm I'll either move or switch to the 6'er. Tell me more about the soft Claws, are they from the Crawfish? Are they sold frozen, fresh? What size hook and how do you rig them? Thanks
    Quote Originally Posted by noonthirtyjoe View Post