Tad Poles, Dipsy, Inline wts  vs TT divers Tad Poles, Dipsy, Inline wts  vs TT divers Tad Poles, Dipsy, Inline wts  vs TT divers Tad Poles, Dipsy, Inline wts  vs TT divers
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Quote Originally Posted by ErieEric View Post
    Wakina...I am fairly new to trolling. I have put my TT's in "time out" and started running Tadpoles. The TT's seemed like they were not running straight, especially as they would get closer to the boat. Is this common and is there a way to tune them?
    I think what you're seeing is the affect of the prop wash on the diver. I've never seen a tru-trip not run straight. I stack them down my tow line pretty tight and never have much of an issue, unless I get a sideways running white bass on.
    Captain Greg
    Walleye2go Sportfishing

I think walleye2go nailed it, along with the fact that the angle from rod tip to diver is becoming sharper and at an increased speed as the retrieval process adds more speed both of which adds more force to the face of the diver causing it to veer left or right to relieve that downward pressure. I have been using the TT divers since they first became available and have never had a problem with them in any way.

I also know that TT divers are a piece of equipment that I do not discard regularly so my experience with them is limited to the few that I have. The Old school Jet Divers were another thing though with several filling with water and some never pulling straight right out of their packaging but never with the TT divers. The hardest thing about using the TT divers would be getting the tripping device set right so they stay set with only the lure attached but trip with the hook up of even a small junk fish.

In summary, I think what you are witnessing is the combined mechanics of Trolling speed, Prop Wash, added speed from the retrieval process, the decreasing angle from rod tip to diver and the added forces those things apply to the divers face that are causing your concern.