Big Boards vs Inline Planer Boards Big Boards vs Inline Planer Boards Big Boards vs Inline Planer Boards Big Boards vs Inline Planer Boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Big Boards vs Inline Planer Boards

I'm not looking to start a war, but rather seeking experienced opinions on both methods. I am fairly new to trolling lake Erie. The past 2 years I trolled 4-5 lines with Dipsy Divers. I am looking to gain more horizontal spread of my lures in order to run more lines. I realize I am going to have to switch to one of the two planer board methods to get the horizontal spread I am seeking.

Please provide some feedback on which system you prefer and why. If it helps, I will be pulling mostly cranks and spoons with my 30' Monterey.

I personally prefer my planer board system for a couple reasons. The pro's are you can spread it out all ya want, but your not going to get 3 out each side. One side can have 3 or 4 poles but the other will do 2. Just the way the waves push ya around. Too much hassle otherwise. The key IMHO is never go straight. Swing the baits. Give & Take. Also ya don't need steel rod holders because the stress is on the release & board line. Myself? I run 2 tru trip jets off back 10/20, 20/30, 20/20 with spoons. Cranks out the side & sometimes 4 oz bottom bouncers w/ 3' crawler harnesses off the front sides. Just hit bottom, give it 5-8' extra & stick it in holder. Tends to catch larger eyes?????

Good Luck & Good Fishing

I have used both planer boards. Inlines are good for small boats. Where there is only 2-3 guys. They don't run very well in ruff waters. You fight the board and fish when reeling in. I personally think there slower to deploy lines. Now big boards. Need room for hardware to run them, and storage. They can be ran In pretty ruff waters. Run a lot more lines per side. Faster deploying lines. Not fighting anything but fish when reeling in. Just my opinion.