Line LB Test for LE Walleye Line LB Test for LE Walleye Line LB Test for LE Walleye Line LB Test for LE Walleye
    Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.

Default Line LB Test for LE Walleye

Line on walleye reel/pole is well over 10 years old. Yea, I know. Not up on contemporary lines.

Please state your lb test, type, and brand you think is overall best for drift fishing for Lake Erie walleye in the summer (Mid May - August). ONE sentence why. Lets keep it simple for all to read quick.

I am also looking for fisherman or others interested in helping me take fishing and underwater video at Lake Erie. Private message me for details. Yes, I have a lot of experience fishing Lake Erie.

West

Trolling or casting? Will make a big difference on the recommendations you get.

For drifting and casting, which is most of my walleye fishing, I have always used Spiderwire 12lb braid. Very sensitive, very easy to feel the bottom and strikes and is very strong.

Tight Lines!
    21ft Red Mirrocraft Open Bow w/ gray Evinrude 120 OB. Nicknamed "Sunny Daze".

Channel 79, hit me up. Can be caught perch'n or drift'n around the islands when I make it out.

Trolling #17lb mono
    I can only hope I have earned the freedom that has been given me.

For casting, 20lb Power Pro braid. Same diameter as 8lb mono with no line memory or stretch. Very sensitive. A good reel with a smooth drag is key here, due to the lack of line stretch when fighting fish.

For trolling, 30lb Power Pro braid with 20lb Ande mono leaders off of jets or dipseys.

30 lb. Spiderwire braid for me....8 lb diameter used for both casting and trolling (with 17 lb. mono leaders).
    i have one reel that i spooled up in 2000, and still casts like new!......jmo....good luck

Default Line Theory for Lake Erie

Combos are like most other things in life, Experience guided by Intelligence. Here's my view.

Dipsey $12
    Leader (8 - 12 ft.)
    Lure - $5 - $9

Lost fish - Priceless

Therefore - 30# Power Pro