Please elaborate.......... Please elaborate.......... Please elaborate.......... Please elaborate..........
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Please elaborate..........

I am currently trolling with Church boards the TX-22's and I like them. Remember, I am new to trolling compared to you guys. With that being said, can someone tell me why some people run big boards and some people run inline planers?? I have always been curious! I chose the inlines because of the cost of the initial set up.

Please reply as I am really wanting to learn!

Quote Originally Posted by Steuben1 View Post
    I am currently trolling with Church boards the TX-22's and I like them. Remember, I am new to trolling compared to you guys. With that being said, can someone tell me why some people run big boards and some people run inline planers?? I have always been curious! I chose the inlines because of the cost of the initial set up.

Please reply as I am really wanting to learn!
    The most obvious reason in my opinion is the ability to run more rods at one time. Running more than 6 at a time on in lines is very difficult, but you can run up to 18 on big boards. Also when the fish is hooked on big boards you fight the fish the whole time and not the board.

These are few things I can think of, I'm sure others can add

-big boards are better in heavier waves, no ski overs you get with little boards
    -you can run twice as many lines per side with big boards
    -like said, you fight the fish the whole time with big boards
    -little trash fish are easier to see and clear the line to rebait on big boards
    -you can run any kind of lure with any kind of weight or diver on big board
    -running big boards with a good bungee system stabilizes the boat in heavier weather
    -it takes less time to teach new people how to run the big board system