Underwater fish cameras Underwater fish cameras Underwater fish cameras Underwater fish cameras
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    Post Thanks / Like
    Blog Entries

Talking Underwater fish cameras

I am looking at buying an underwater fishing camera for hardwater fishing and early spring jig bite. I am considering the Aqua -vu AV715c($300), Vexilar FS-800 Fish Scout($300), or Marcum VS385C($425). I have no experience with these cameras and am looking for pros and cons from fishing people who have used these cameras or recommendations on other cameras in same price range.

Post Thanks / Like

Default aqua view

i highly recommend the pocket aqua view, for the money its an awesome camera and size wise fits right in your pocket, lots of advantages with it and save yourself a few bucks as well

Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.
    Post Thanks / Like

Lightbulb "Drop Over" underwater video fish camera systems

WalleyeAddict,

For open water on a boat in Lake Erie these (relatively) low end video systems will not significantly help you catch fish. In shallow water with clear or good visibility and very stable operating conditions these systems can be useful and entertaining on a boat. The cameras are very hard to control in water depths greater than 6-8 feet and on waters bigger than a pond. Trust me, the first time you take one of these out on Lake Erie and drop it over the side of the boat you will probably be disappointed. Even on a dead calm day the camera moves around a lot and you rarely get more than a one or two second stable view 2-5 feet from the camera lens. Unless you spend a lot of time designing and building methods to deploy the camera so it will be stable and controllable you won't get much better, and that is very difficult to do.

Ice fishing is a different situation since the operation platform is stable and therefore the camera systems are much more useful.