young walleye young walleye young walleye young walleye
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: young walleye

Default young walleye

I have been fishing the lake for over 25 years and I don't remember seeing this many short walleye since the monster 2003 class. I don't think they predicted the 2011 hatch to be this strong but everyone I talk to said they are tossing back nearly as many shorts as they are keeping. How do you guys think the number of small walleye compares to the 2003 hatch? At any rate it looks like we will have some decent fish in the next couple of years.

1+ year old walleyes caught= 10 1/2"
    2+ year old walleyes caught= 14 1/4"
    3+ year old walleyes caught= 17 1/4"
    4+ year old walleyes caught= 18 7/8"
    5+ year old walleyes caught= 20 1/4"
    6+ year old walleyes caught= 21 1/4"
    7+ year old walleyes caught= 22 3/4"
    8+ year old walleyes caught= 24 1/4"
    9+ year old walleyes caught= 26 1/4"
    10+ year old walleyes caught=27 1/2"

Let's hope... we caught maybe 2 dozen or so shorts and many right at 15 the last several weeks

Greg

Default Shorts

Yes, today was about 40% shorts, some 9-10" some 13-14".
    Glad to see that.

A concern that I have is that the small ones get dragged along if caught trolling and end up drowning if the tackle is not set properly. Has anyone been seeing that occur?

When we were up we only caught one short out of twenty fish, and that one was probably legal but it was so close I didn't want to take the chance. Of course, if they aren't as aggressive as all the trash fish we were pulling that could be why we didn't get as many as others.

the last 2 times out i have handled 2 short fish for every keeper. Most in the 10-15 inch range. It is great to see. GOes to show you the experts don't have all the facts with their trawl surveys. I think 2011 was a big class. lets hope 2013 was too!

Quote Originally Posted by Eyezcrazy View Post