Western Basin Reefs Western Basin Reefs Western Basin Reefs Western Basin Reefs
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Western Basin Reefs

Guys, I'm new to Erie, made it up twice last fall perch fishing with my new boat. Can't wait for the weather to break. I know that most of the reefs in the Western Basin are within the extended Camp Perry danger zone. Do they restrict access to this extended zone very often? I'd hate to make the 3 hour drive only to find out the area is closed for the day? Do they announce a day or more in advance when they are going to close access?

im not sure when they announce it i just go from what im told at the camp from the locals. I know this dont help you because your traveling but if you do find your self in this situation (others correct me if im wrong) but i believe you can still fish niagra reef it sits right outside the danger zone

waterdog Guest

Default Camp Perry Range info

http://community.walleye.com/album.p...&pictureid=281

Here is the link above to a document posted by me on web site.

Hope this helps.

Default reefs

The firing range zone 1 cuts right through the middle of several of the main reefs I fish. There are a few reefs just outside that area that are still very good. You dont have to just fish the reefs during April, shoreline areas are loaded with walleye early and mid month. Crane Creek to Wild Wings area close to shore is rocky bottom with zebra muscles and a mix of sand. Early April you can start as shallow as 6-9 ft. 13 ft is good almost the whole month. The reefs hold alot of fish nearly all year as I fish them at different times. Early May you can still haul in some huge eyes that are still around, so its not just spawn and head deep. I have done real well on the reefs late July and into August. As the water slowly warms, the fish slowing move to deeper water.