Boat choice ... Boat choice ... Boat choice ... Boat choice ...

Thread: Boat choice ...

Default Boat choice ...

I'm new to Lake Erie fishing ... I've moved south from Northern Mi where I'm used to fishing Lake Michigan Salmon and smaller in land lakes, I'm in the market for a new boat and I want to know what kind of boat works well on lake Erie and the Detroit River ..?

The real question is how much money do have to spend on a boat!

you'll have to decide if you want aluminum or glass. 20 to 21ft. since you mention the detroit river I take it you plan on jigging/handlining the river and trolling lake erie. you can get by with an 18 or 19 fter, but the extra room/comfort of a 21 fter and being able to span waves better with the 21 would be alot nicer. are you buying new or used? glass tends to be a much dryer ride, but when it's really rockin out on erie, give me tin. the transom lifts alot faster = less water in the boat/less chance of filling with water. I run an 18 ft aluminum I have setup to do it all ( would like a 21fter) and it's always gotten me back even in 8+ fters thru many tourney's. you have to know how to run what ever you get, but there's always a chance of a rouge wave and that changes everything..quickly. don't under power if your going to fish erie. decide what type of layout you want/need. sit in plenty of boats, look around and think about where everything is mounted, stored etc etc. then go shopping

my budget is between 10 -15k

Quote Originally Posted by boatlimit View Post
    my budget is between 10 -15k