Fishfinder Fishfinder Fishfinder Fishfinder
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fishfinder

Default Fishfinder

Looking to purchase a fishfinder for my boat over the winter. There seems to be many options.

I want to buy it right the first time.!

Any advice would be Greatly appreciated.

Best to all, tia

Ed

that's like picking a boat. everyone has their favorites. I've been running lowrance for over 30 yrs. I also have a raymarine which when it works is great but it fogs up every single time it's turned on for over an hour! factory couldn't find a problem. but it does work great. the toughest part for me would be learning a new product to where I can control it like I want to. just takes alot of time. if you don't have a top/bimini color units can be a pain. I have 3 color units and one monochrome. I'll take a monochrome for GPS ( which you didn't mention) anyday as I can always see it. but color tells you alot more about the structure and fish size than monochrome. you'll have to decide what your expectations/needs are. down imaging? side imaging? how much do you like working with advanced systems. there are dvd's and classes that will help with your learning curve depending on the manufacture/unit you pick.
    probably didn't help you any. but just some things to think about.

Smile depth finder

depends when you want to buy it, bass pro lowers the price on
    last year units by up to 50 percent, this way you can get twice
    as much a unit for the same amount of money. We also use
    lowrance and ray marine, its all we ever used. this usually
    happens in jan. to first part of feb.
    Wayne reel sport charters

Default choices