Mon July 13 Mon July 13 Mon July 13 Mon July 13
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Mon July 13

Post Thanks / Like

Default Mon July 13

Fished Mon 7-13 out of Fenwick. Reports were fish were in 16' of water a few miles out. We did best in 19-20'. Caught 17 most were 15-18". We really couldn't pattern the fish. We trolled between 2.1 & 3 with worm harnesses & spoons behind jets & reef runners. We caught more of the fish on reef runners, but all baits and speeds caught fish. The lake was flat most of the day. It started to roll around 7 pm & we picked up a few fish quickly, but had to leave. It wasn't a great day, but there was enough action to keep the kids happy. We trolled east and west from Besse to about 4.5 miles west. I'm guessing the larger fish are moving east. This is my first year trolling on the lake. Does anyone have any suggestions for locations and ramps to follow the fish east ? I'm bringing the kids back up Sun & Mon and am thinking about trying further east. Thanks for any help you can provide.

Post Thanks / Like

For the last 5 or 6 years that I can remember, there are some fish that move in toward shore just after the mayfly hatch is over. In my area, they stage up off the Moose just West of the Portage river in Port Clinton. They are only there for a week or so then they leave. They are mostly young fish, 13-17 inches. Perhaps they are on the move for more mayflies??? We can only guess.

I too have had recent success with crankbaits, specifically the 25 depth reef runner.

Fish move East and also North. 2 seperate schools. The area near the Turn around bouy will hold fish until they move back in September or so. I havn't spent much time fishing East, but the same is true there.

Trolling this time of year can be fast. 2-2.6 works well and I have caught fish up to 4 mph. Stay current on the reports and follow the fish.
    Last edited by spoontang; 07-15-2009 at 08:20 PM.