fishing walleye run from boat fishing walleye run from boat fishing walleye run from boat fishing walleye run from boat
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    papaNwes Guest

Default fishing walleye run from boat

I am rather new to fishing the spring run on the river. I have a small boat (18ft) that I would like to fish from. Is fishing up stream like in the river off Perrysburg in the deeper water any good? Are the launches busy? Thanks for any help from seasoned anglers.

Water Fox Guest

Default Maumee Run

you will probably be downstream from New Orleans park.With a boat that big better off going to the mouth or bay.

ERIE REBEL1 Guest

If you fish the river NOW when the river is high you will have no problem with an eighteen ftr.The fish will be in the current breaks,I could tell you more as for locations but it took me a number of years to learn these spots when I ran my boat in the river so all I am going to tell you that a fish is not any different than you or I,If I don't have to move against a lot resistance then I am not going to.Good luck and go get them.

whateverswims Guest

Default Cullin park

Fish the mouth of the river. It is allot less work and less dangerous than anchoring in this high river level. Good idea to check river flow before going upstream and tossing anchor.(Advanced Hydrological Prediction Service on NOAA gives best river levels). I have read a few studies that suggest only 10% of lake erie walleyes actually reproduce in the rivers anyway--the rest offshore.

Best bet if you do not want to battle waves--put in at Cullin park off of summit street. It can be pretty shallow but my 20ft always made it. I plan on dunking the 24 foot at cullin if the pier is in this weekend. It is right at the mouth of the Maumee. Fish stage up in the bay area. You will see lots of boats out soon. This bay area is close enouph in shore that even with strong NE, you have a decent chance at making it out.

Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.