new to lake erie new to lake erie new to lake erie new to lake erie
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
    dan d Guest

Default new to lake erie

myself and my fishing partner are comming to lake erie from grand rapids MI, this weekend. this will be our first time ever on lake erie and first time ever walleye fishng, thinking of going out of Ohio, any help on where to launch, where to fish, what to bring, and we are also in need of some advice on where to stay for a night or two. Just looking to try and put some eater size walleye in the boat, have spent the last 15 years fishing bass tourneys, now want to start fishing for food and fun.

Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Ohio Lake Erie walleye trip

Dan d,

First, if you have room for one more, I'd love to go out with you and "show you the ropes." I've got nearly 20 years experience on the Lake, so I can help you out.

What size is your boat? That will deternime a lot of where you can safely go and where you'll launch.

Lodging - It's the main fishing season along the Lake, so on weekends the nearby hotels are packed with fisherem and the summer rates are in effect. If you have the funds, stay in Port Clinton as that's the center of activity (many motels/hotels there). If you want to stay closer to probable launch ramps and want a cheaper stay, try east Toledo along Route 2 (Oregon, Ohio). Everything from flea-bag motels to nice hotels.

Travel - You'll be going down Route 2 to get to the launch ramps. Once you get to Toledo, you can either take 280 east off Route 75 to Route 2, but Route 2 takes you through east Toledo (Oregon) for the first 10-15 miles and you may get lost. You can find lodging along there. If you take the Turnpike (Route 80/90) off 75 get off at exit 91, Fremont / Port Clinton / Lake Erie Islands and go norh to route 2. Then head straight into Port Clinton or get on Route 2 going east and get off at the next exit (Port Clinton) about two miles.