seeking advice seeking advice seeking advice seeking advice
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: seeking advice

hammerin11 Guest

Default seeking advice

I have a small 14 foot boat and I live in Norwalk, my first year with any kind of boat, Can anybody tell me exactly where I should put in at and where to go? Sorry, I'm a beginner, any advice would be appreciated!
    Thanks,
    hammerin11

Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.

Default Where to fish with 14' boat

Hammerin11,

A 14' boat is way too small to be fishing Lake Erie, at least out in the open waters.

However, IF the weather (wind & waves) is nice and going to stay that way ALL DAY, and you are an experienced boater, you can get out into walleye April through mid-May close to shore (one mile out or less) around the reefs and shallower near-shore waters off the Davis Besse Power station west of Port Clinton. Many public and private launch sites off Route 2 along this stretch of the Lake.

After that, the only SOMEWHAT SAFE places ON CALM DAYS will be around the Islands (launch from the island) through late July when walleye schools are present, or near shore from Sandusky east to Cleveland. I've caught limits of walleye in July within 200 yards of shore around the islands.

Your biggest issue on calm days with that small a boat is boat wakes, especially on the weekend. Personally, I wouldn't go out on the open waters of Lake Erie in a 14' boat on a weekend, unless I was in an area very close to shore and at a time when few boats are traveling.

Best advice is to find somebody with a bigger boat and hitch a ride.

West Basin

hammerin11 Guest

Hey, thanks for honesty, Like I said.., I'm just a beginner and that is what I was hoping to hear is somewhere that you don't have to go out too far, just like you were saying! Maybe just the name of a ramp that you can go out a little ways and catch a few walleye,
    Thanks,
    Gary