Newby needs help with some trolling Newby needs help with some trolling Newby needs help with some trolling Newby needs help with some trolling
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Newby needs help with some trolling

Just boat a boat that I am gonna set up to do some trolling this year. I am totally new to this trolling thing. Boat 2 okuma reels and two new rods today and some in line snap weights. Wasn't sure in what kind on mono line to buy. There were several options in the 20lb class but wasn't sure on brand. I always use stren and suffix for my bass fishing in my other boat. Are these two brands ok for trolling? Wasn't sure on line color as well. I always use low vis green is this color ok? Any help would greatly be appreciated

Default Re: Newby needs help with some trolling

It sounds like you are off to a good start.
    Both are respected brands of line and low vis green is also good. When using mono, we use 15 #. We personally use 30# braid, but 15# mono is also a good choice for starting and is cheaper and easier to work with.

Do you have planer boards?

Also it is important to make sure your boat can troll slow enough. We troll as slow as 1 MPH in early Spring.
    Mike

Don't have any boards yet. My new boat doesn't have a kicker motor, but I did buy two drift/trolling socks that are a size bigger than I need for the boat to help with the speed if I need to. I haven't even had the boat out at all yet. Bought it at a dealer in November and had it wrapped and put into winter storage. It has a 5.0 Merc. Thanks for the help

We have been using 15# Maxima ultragreen mono for past 8yrs and its worked well for me and my friends.Offshore inline planer boards are also a good addition to start your trolling.

Thank you look into that brand as well. So I don't need to use 20lb. I can drop to 15lb? The other gentleman said that as well. I don't know why I had in my head that I needed to use 20lb. Great information guys. I really appreciate it