Trolling with braided line Trolling with braided line Trolling with braided line Trolling with braided line
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Trolling with braided line

Is anyone trolling with cranks and boards using braided line? Any down side to using braid other than lack of stretch?

Default Re: Trolling with braided line

Love braid, use it , no problem!

This topic has been discussed over and over here and OGF.Many guys use braid with inline boards and works fine for them.Main problem they have is the line slipping through the releases.That problem can be solved by using specific releases or wrapping.The consensus though is the catch rate is better with mono,inline boards and cranks.Braid will not beat mono in most situations.

I use to have trouble gauging depth with braid. After talking to some of the LEWT fishermen I switched to 10 lb mono and I have not looked back. it works for most everything I need it for. I think braid is overkill myself.

I am pretty new to this web site, and a newbie to trolling so I do not have access to the vast amount of previous posts on this subject, Bob. I was only looking for some insight if braided line was being used by others and if it was a viable option. Excuse me for asking a question I felt it was a valid question to ask on this web site.

A couple down sides not already mentioned:
    Cost. Braid costs more.
    Knots. Good braid knots are harder to tie and take more practice in the beginning. Because braid will slip and or cut itself.
    Abrasion. Braid will wear easier than mono (it will look fuzzy) You have to watch it closely around cranks and the releases. The loss of only a couple of the spectra fibers will drastically reduce it's strength.

That said we prefer braid for the reason you first mentioned, the lack of stretch. We use releases with all our inline board and with braid a quick little pop will release the boards as long as you twist or wrap the release as Bob mentioned.