11/27 Huron trip 11/27 Huron trip 11/27 Huron trip 11/27 Huron trip
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default 11/27 Huron trip

We finished November with a bang today. 3 man limit of 5-6 pound fish
    and released another 20. Husky Jerks outperformed bandits and P10’s. Anything orange was hot today. 55 back unassisted at 1.8.

I learned a few things this year. You don’t need a mono or fluro leader for trolling cranks, straight braid works just fine. We caught just as many if not more fish without the leader. I also didn’t realize you should only use a snaps for cranks, not swivel snaps. The swivel snap takes away from the action of the lure.

This is my 33rd year fishing Lake Erie and I am still learning. Thank you to everyone who shares their knowledge to make us all better fishermen and women.

Tight lines!

Jim11/27 Huron trip-11811f05-d689-4e36-b54f-96ee8e7a8eb8-jpg

Default Re: 11/27 Huron trip

Yes braided with a snap to the lure works fine. Don't let anyone tell you different.

i've been useing stren 12 lb. yellow/gold line right to the lure for the last couple years with no slow down on bites...doesn't seem to bother the fish.

Thats a nice looking cooler of fish along with some good info on the snaps. Been fishing Lake Erie for a long time but only trolling the last 3 years. Always something new to learn and one of the reasons I read and try to participate on this site.

Baha299

Thanks for post Jim,didn't see you post as many trips this year compared to years past.I have read the same from the best trollers,no leader needed even if using hi vis line right to crank.Yeah,your right that snap to cranks is better than swivels too.

Quote Originally Posted by itsbob View Post
    Thanks for post Jim,didn't see you post as many trips this year compared to years past.I have read the same from the best trollers,no leader needed even if using hi vis line right to crank.Yeah,your right that snap to cranks is better than swivels too.