Dipsy Diver setting's Dipsy Diver setting's Dipsy Diver setting's Dipsy Diver setting's
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Dipsy Diver setting's

I'm still learning how to run dipsy divers. I kept getting tangled with the two poles together on one side. Does the 3 setting make the diver go out or back farther. I learned back farther but when you reel the 3 setting in how do you not get tangled with the 1 setting.

Default Re: Dipsy Diver setting's

The 3 setting makes the diver swing out farther but not as deep. I keep my inside rod diver at the lowest setting and move the outside rod divers to the highest. Etc.

So when you reel your 3 setting in it won't interfere with your 1 setting. I'll give that a try.

When you trip the diver such as when you have a fish on, it will swing back to the center. This is why I rarely use the zero setting because it will be straight back. I Generally use the 1 setting on the closest rod. Of course it depends on how big your landing area on your boat is. Mine is not very big.

So if the trip on the out side swings back in how does it not tangle with your inside pole

We run our #1 size dipseys with rings usually at a 1 and 3 setting.Some rules you need to follow to prevent them from tangling.I firmly believe a snubbed on them helps them from spinning when setting them out.And use the clicker when putting them out too.
    Weigh your dipseys and the heaviest ones go on inside dipsey or 1 setting.That is because if heavier dipsey on outside,the dipsey sinks when slowing down or turning and can tangle with inside dipsey.
    The 3 setting needs to have a longer lead than the inside 1 setting just like running inline boards.The 3 setting goes in rod holder further forward toward bow and the 1 setting behind it.