Help? Help? Help? Help?

Thread: Help?

Blog Entries

Default Help?

Hey guys Michael here! I am very new to fishing but I have found it as a very fun path and activity. However I am looking for a rod just something simple but not a baitcaster if you guys have nay tips please let me know even if its just fishing in general thank you guys!

Default Re: Help?

I like the StCroix Mojo rods. They are around $100.. so not terrible yet they are very good. I have several for casting and drop shotting. I like the Mojo Bass 7 ft. medium action spinning rods. Combine it with a Plueger President spinning reel $50.00-60.00 and you will have a good all purpose spinning outfit.
    Last edited by pimplepounder; 07-12-2021 at 08:58 PM. Reason: Spelling

I agree I like the 6'8 Mojo One piece for jigging, medium with extra fast or fast fast tip. For casting I like my Axid X medium light with fast tip. I don't get to worried about reels because really all you need them to do is reel
    and let drag out. spend your money on good rod.

I would disagree with previous. Spend money on good reel with good drag. YOu can get good Ugly Stik rods for jigging, casting, and even small boards on my 6'6 inch Medium action 6-14# rated Ugly stix for $50. President reel is very good also. That was the last setup I bought. Three years ago I bought the rod for $50 and the reel onsale end of season for $35 at Fin Feather Fur in Middleburg Hts.

Rickerd

I agree with the Ugly Sticks. Been using AND abusing them for 40 years. As for the reels I use a fairly cheap Shimono Syncopate mainly because I love the finger trigger. Most manufacturers quit making the triggers for some reason. I keep 4 of these still unopened at all times just in case they quit making them. $29.99 on Sale. Total cost of setup, $70.