Advice is welcome Advice is welcome Advice is welcome Advice is welcome

Default Advice is welcome

I just spent 2 days out around Huron and then to Kelley’s. We used bandits mostly and also tried the old Erie Dearie which did well in my youth 30 yrs ago. We marked fish all over in the 20’ to 25’ range. And didn’t get a single bite either day. My guess is we fished too late in the day. Saturday we got out in the early afternoon and fished til about 5:00. Sunday we went from 10:00 am to around 3:00 pm. I didn’t see anyone having any success but I’m new to the boat and new to trolling with dipsies so it could be “user error”. So I’d love sage wisdom from those of you who consistently have success. How far back are you running your dipsies? What trolling speed is working for you. Are bandits the real deal? Or are you having luck with spoons or worm harnesses? Thanks!!

Default Re: Advice is welcome

Fish high in the spring. Get boards YouTube it and go nuts.

heard harnesses are doing good now bandits 40 50 65 back also heard

I would be running my dipsies 70' 60' 50' but I'd be willing to adjust if not getting fish. I would try harnesses at 1.8 to 2.0 if I mix spoons in I'd run 2.0 to 2.2. all spoons I'd run 2.5 to 3.0 until I hit the magic number. if your marking walleye, they should have the feed bag on. you just have to find them with your lures at the proper speed and lure and you should catch fish. if you have downriggers run them with shallow bandits in sunspot or chrome blue back chrome belly with a 25' lead. spoons and harnesses start at 18' down then adjust if needed. shallow cranks start at 15' down. cranks if tuned will run at 1.8 or 3.0 without any trouble.