Opinons please anchor, fishfinder Opinons please anchor, fishfinder Opinons please anchor, fishfinder Opinons please anchor, fishfinder

Default Opinons please anchor, fishfinder

Hey guys WAS out today perching not much luck. Had trouble with anchor holding. I have a starcraft fishmaster 196 What size/ style anchor do I need? I fish lake erie, breast bay and port clinton. Also want to up grade my fiahfinder/ gps willing to spend 1000.00. Which ones work well for you.

Thanks in advance for your help

Mitch

I had the same problem couple weeks ago. For a soft bottom being sand or mud You need to invest in a fluke style anchor to fit the length of your boat with at least 4 feet of chain connected to anchor and the rule of thumb is 5 feet of anchor rope x the depth of water your in. I heard the waves was pretty bad today probably be hard for anything to hold. I don't go out in anything past 2 footers I only have an 18 foot boat. I'll be trying my new anchor out Wednesday for the first time. Get as much advise as you can. I find a lot of good research here and on YouTube. Good luck.

Chain on anchor line. The longer the chain the better. Chain helps anchor lay flat on bottom for a good set. No less then 150 ft. of anchor line ( called rode). You may not need it on a clam day but when waves increase you will need to play out more line. It is safest to anchor from bow!! A10 lb. fluke anchor is a good start. Chain & anchor will be heavy to lift. If you have room a windlass is great to have. Best type of anchor line is pillted cost more then stranded but easy to handle. Good fishing. Stay safe!!

If your anchor is big enough, MORE chain!