40 Tru trips & trolling 40 Tru trips & trolling 40 Tru trips & trolling 40 Tru trips & trolling
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Default 40 Tru trips & trolling

Hey all, really looking for some help with this. I am new to trolling. Been drifting and casting since I was a kid. I recently got some 40 Tru Trips, new 8'6" rods, line counter reels, and already had spoons, harnesses, etc.

Here are my questions:
    When you are trolling 40 Tru Trips, I understand the depths and how the speed works as I have a chart but what I don't know is how long of a leader do you put on your spoons or harnesses? What kind of line should I use for the leader?

2nd, how do you know when a fish is on? Is it obvious? Does the rod bend over a lot more? If you are marking fish at 23' in 30' of water, should the bait be at 17-20'?

I have read a lot and seen plenty on the internet but I'm still lost here. This may seem like a silly question but I am just trying to learn from someone who is willing to give me a few pointers. Thanks and happy fishing.

In normal clarity I use a 6’ leader. Longer if the water is really clear. The trick on telling whether you have a fish on or not is to use matching rods, at least on 1 side of the boat. The one that acts different has a fish on. If you are only gonna run a few board rods, I would run them all on 1 side of the boat. You are ahead to run four or 5 on 1 side as to have 2 & 2 or 2 & 3. With tru trips they should plane up to the top.

Always keep your baits above the marks. If the fish are really high you won’t even get a mark because of the diameter of sonar cone right under the boat may only be a few inches. If you are not catching try your baits only down 5’ or 10’

Thanks a ton for the advice. I really appreciate it. What line should I use for the leaders? All the rods I have are the same, so I can check that off the list!

Mike