Fishing for opinions/recommendations on steering with a kicker Fishing for opinions/recommendations on steering with a kicker Fishing for opinions/recommendations on steering with a kicker Fishing for opinions/recommendations on steering with a kicker
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ashtabula and Oak Harbor Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Default Fishing for opinions/recommendations on steering with a kicker

    My first year with my 27' Pro-Line walk. It's got twin 225s with auto pilot. I'm hanging a 15 pro kicker with a speed control. Wondering if I'll get away with locking the kicker and using the mains for rudders with the auto pilot?? My concern is losing control in rough conditions. Anyone have a similar situation that works? Thanks in advance for your thoughts..
    Jeff
    Pro-Line 27 walk
    Twin 225 Opti
    15 pro kicker w I-troll/ hunt
    Raymarine auto pilot

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2014
    Location
    Monroe, MI
    Posts
    91

    Default

    I have AP on my main, and tie my kicker to the main and run the autopilot to control both. Works great, large rudder from main and rudder and thrust from kicker. When trolling I turn the sensitivity to max on the AP, holds a line even in the roughest conditions.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Location
    Marblehead, Ohio
    Posts
    191

    Default

    With only 1 or 2 mph water flow over the skegs on the mains, they will not act as effective rudders.... most of your steering ability will come from the thrust of the kicker.
    Capt. Eric Litton
    614-679-2616
    37' Tollycraft "Pirate Clipper"
    www.eriecharter.com
    Lake Erie Fishing Charters
    Lake Erie Walleye Charters
    Lake Erie Charter Fishing

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ashtabula and Oak Harbor Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Looks like a tie bar it's in my future. Thanks for the input Capt. Eric!
    Pro-Line 27 walk
    Twin 225 Opti
    15 pro kicker w I-troll/ hunt
    Raymarine auto pilot

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    chillicothe,ohio
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gotfish?? View Post
    Looks like a tie bar it's in my future. Thanks for the input Capt. Eric!
    Sea Star cable connection is the best way to tie your motors together opinion.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2015
    Location
    chillicothe,ohio
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gotfish?? View Post
    Looks like a tie bar it's in my future. Thanks for the input Capt. Eric!
    Sea Star cable connection is the best way to tie your motors together in my opinion.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Ohio
    Posts
    79

    Default

    i use the ez steer bracket. ties the main and kicker together with a bracket on both motors and an adjustable bar with ball joints on them. it was 250 bucks and really easy to install. panther makes it i believe.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Chicago
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I believe you need to tie them together. Just locking the motor in a position will not work too many factors coming into play. Wind direction wave direction torque from prop all will affect the coarse. motor needs to move to correct direction.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    Ashtabula and Oak Harbor Ohio
    Posts
    3

    Cool

    Expecting my ezsteer to arrive in the next few days. Hoping it works out ok. Thanks for the input! Let's all think spring. Hitting the water this weekend for an Easter fish hunt
    Pro-Line 27 walk
    Twin 225 Opti
    15 pro kicker w I-troll/ hunt
    Raymarine auto pilot


Similar Threads

  1. Looking for opinions for a trip on Tuesday
    By Centralohio112 in forum Western Lake Erie Fishing REPORTS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-23-2016, 10:59 PM
  2. Remote steering for 9.9 Mercury Kicker
    By basser53 in forum Fishing Techniques Discussion (jigging, drifting, trolling)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 10-21-2013, 04:28 AM
  3. opinions on hummingbird 500 and 700 series
    By smokey in forum Electronics (GPS, Fish Finders, Radar ...)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 06-05-2013, 01:15 PM
  4. thanks guys! and id like some opinions
    By forefathers in forum Western Lake Erie Fishing REPORTS
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-01-2011, 08:00 PM
  5. best kicker remote steering
    By carbo in forum Western Lake Erie Fishing REPORTS
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-25-2009, 11:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •