Dipsy vs jets Dipsy vs jets Dipsy vs jets Dipsy vs jets
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dipsy vs jets

Default Dipsy vs jets

I am new to the trolling game just wondering if anyone has any real preference between dipsy's or jets to get your bait down to the depth that you want. Is 1 more or less tangle-free.

usually you run both. well i do. so jets can't go out to the sides of the boat. unless you use big boards you need to use jets with dipsy's because the dipsy's will move out away from the boat allowing you to run more then one line. so if you set your dipsy to say a 1 it will go slightly out from the boat and if you run another on a 3 it will run even further out from the boat. both setting run at different depths though. you would have to look at the dive curve for both. also you can run them with or without the o ring. that's the black ring around the outside. jets just run straight back. i run 2 straight off the back and 2 dipsy's off the side. different sizes make for different depths. i use true trip 40 and 50's jets. make sure you get the true trip jets. i also run the medium and large size dipsy's. think they are 1's and megas. something like that.

I run both, days when dipsy's will be hot or jets will be. Jets run a little further away from boat when on boards than you can get with dipsy's. Gives you an added element of seeing what they want and dialing them in. I like the options.

I like TruTrips because they float if you need to stop, like in boat traffic. Also as previously stated, make sure you get TruTrips not just jets. TruTrips have a release when you hook a fish so you don't have to fight the diver.

Thanks all sounds like Tru trips are the answer