Is the Walleye fishing over Is the Walleye fishing over Is the Walleye fishing over Is the Walleye fishing over

Default Is the Walleye fishing over

I have not had any luck catching walleye once the mayfly hatch starts. Can anyone tell me if they have any success catching walleye and what system and bait they use?
    I am a beginner at this and could use any help I can get.

Walleye can still be caught during the hatch. Look up "Mayfly Rigs" or "Weapon Rigs." They are 18" single hook leader with #3 or #4 Colorado Blade and colored beads. Pick colors that mimic mayfly colors, such as gold. Use 3/8oz to 3/4oz Egg Sinker at loop end with bead for stopper. Walleye can be found at all water depths, feeding on the mayflies. Cast and reel while drifting, working all water levels until you find the fish. A lot of times they will hit the jig as it flutters to the bottom.
    -2014 Tahoe Q5SF named "Fish-N-Tails"
    Tight Lines!

Well we plan on grabbing a bunch of crawlers and going tomorrow or Friday. Going to try trolling small gold stinger spoons (gold simulates the mayfly color) and also troll gold weapons with half a crawler. If that doesn't produce maybe we'll drift and cast weapons. Trying to look for rocky terrain as mayflies come out of the mud. If you can find rocks those fish aren't feeding on mayflies. Basically scale down your size and try to make your bait look like a mayfly... Tough time and will post a report. In the meantime, anyone have a good chunk of rocky terrain to suggest?

I think all those small aggressive walleye will still bite during the hatch.They did back in 2006 for that huge 2003 class of fish.May not need to look for rocks, but Gull Island Schoal is rocky and close to a school of fish.As is most of the reef complex off the shooting range.

Sweet thanks! My buddy has a nice fish finder but we haven't figured out the correct settings to really know if we're on rocks or mud. Obviously big rock formations can be easy to see.