Catfishing Sandusky Bay? Catfishing Sandusky Bay? Catfishing Sandusky Bay? Catfishing Sandusky Bay?
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Post Thanks / Like

Default Catfishing Sandusky Bay?

I have been visiting the lake to walleye fish for most of my 30 years on this earth and I have never heard of this until I saw a magazine article last weekend, but apparently Sandusky Bay is a world class channel cat fishery. I'm not sure how that managed to escape my attention for so long, but my question is, has anyone ever fished the bay for cats and what areas of the bay should we target if we decide you fish it? I've found no shortage of bait suggestions, but I can't seem to figure out an actual location or depth to target.

Thanks for any information!

Post Thanks / Like

We used to fish for catfish in Sandusky Bay when I was about 55 years younger. There was a farmer who had a lane through his field to the bay. On a fence post was a can where you put in 50 cents or a dollar per car. There was never anyone back there when we were there. There was a nasty beach and a rock pier. We waded out till the water was just above our knees and cast out bobbers and night crawlers about 18"under water. That area was some where southwest of the airport to the islands on the north shore of the bay. I always wore blue jeans as I kept a stringer attached to my belt because I didn't want to get stung. We fished during the day usually during June and July and the best fishing was when the wind blew and there was action on the bobber. I would think there are catfish anywhere along the shoreline where there are some rocks nearby. We never caught any over five lbs doing that but it was fun. My dad had a boat on Lake Erie in a marina, and we went to the bay on occasion when it was too rough to go out on the lake. We were not expert catfishermen but it was not unusual to catch a dozen or more.
    Last edited by Longliner; 05-12-2016 at 09:14 AM.

Post Thanks / Like