Trolling boards Trolling boards Trolling boards Trolling boards
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Trolling boards

Default Trolling boards

What size line should I use with my offshore boards? I'm new to this and need some advise.

I have been using Sunline Supernatural monofilament 16# in green. This is a line suggested by Capt Juls and so far it has worked great with my boards. IMO refrain from spider wire and power pro lines. They can slip in the snaps and tighten down on tattle tails cutting into the pads. Good Luck!

Maybe should've started a different thread, but I'm "looking" at some Offshore In-Line boards. What size would I need to pull dipseys ? (Sorry for the highjack. )

Don't think you can run dipseys on boards, they run themselves.

Thanks for the info.

Church Tackle makes a large inline board, the TX-44, that can pull a dipsy diver. Since a dipsy diver can be set to plane out away from the boat on its own, most people do not use them behind planer boards. These TX-44 boards are used by the salmon guys to pull 300+ ft copper lines to get their presentation very deep.

Gotcha. What would I run if I am targeting 50'. ? Usually can only hit PA waters a couple times a year. Boards and jets ? Usually run harness, but would like to try some spoons. I'm clueless !!