The Program for Catching Walleye The Program for Catching Walleye The Program for Catching Walleye The Program for Catching Walleye
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The Program for Catching Walleye

6 Years ago I was a newbie in this forum. I was just switching from drifting and casting to trolling. I read a ton of info on here and didn't post a thing. I absorbed information like a sponge and felt like I was a fly on the wall watching seasoned fishermen and real live charter captains sharing information! As long as I kept watching and no one knew I was here, then the charter captains would keep sharing secrets... But surely if I spoke up, they would shut down and get quite. Then I finally did it, I reached out and said something. Actually, I asked a question...

To my surprise I got a warm welcome, lots of answers, and even an invite to call Skipper9 (Captain Jim) on his cell phone. I was a little nervous calling such a knowledgeable wealth of information. I mean I was trolling Dipsy Divers and getting skunked, then reading the forums and seeing what a great day others had in the same area. When I read Wakina and Skipper 9's and others posts they used terms like, "TT" and "120 Back."

I didn't know what "TT" was, and thought 120 Back meant that you let you line out and "counted" to 120... They used what I thought was a private inside language and abbreviated everything so none of us newbies knew what they were talking about. Things like "DDHJ" and "RRs" and they even talked about "Tuning their RR"... Whatever that was?!

When you switch from casting and drifting for 35 years and never trolled anything but a couple of worm harnesses and even an Erie Deerie or two, you have a lot to learn.