Downrigger questions Downrigger questions Downrigger questions Downrigger questions

Default Downrigger questions

Im new to open water fishing. It seems at my location people are catching walleye in about 70 feet of water and getting fish at 60'. Ive been marking lots of fish at 60-65 feet but have not had much luck with my crankbaits and would like to try some crawler harnesses as others have said they do wonders. My question is how much leader off of my downrigger should i have and do i need weight on my crawler harness to keep the bait in the same zone i have my downrigger ball or will it stay in that zone on its own? Also i think i may have not taken into account the dive that my crankbait does when i was trolling which may contribute to my lack of success. Anything helps guys. Im a newb but would love to at least pull 1 or 2 in the next time i get out. Thanks!

Default Re: Downrigger questions

When using my downriggers with bandits I let out 58ft of line. By the time I grab the line twist it and snap it in the clip I'm out 50 ft. It is just a guess but by trial and error it seems to put my bandit 12ft deeper. When something works write your numbers down for future use. When I was marking fish at 46ft I went down 32ft so with the 12ft added I was at 44ft. 2ft above the walleye.. Now harness I would also put it out around 50ft no weight or very small weight. Try that first and from there add weight to see what works for you. Best time to do all this in my opinion is when the bite is good but not to good if that makes sense. If the fish seem spooked you can let out more line but I do like the 50ft to 70ft range behind boat.

Quote Originally Posted by verno View Post