New to trolling New to trolling New to trolling New to trolling

Thread: New to trolling

Default New to trolling

I’m just starting out trolling on Lake Erie. If anyone has any recommendations of brands and places to buy gear.

looking for ideas on planar boards, planar motors or manual wheels, rods and reels, rod holders, type of line, wheigh, lurs , size and color. Anything else your willing to share... thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by Bob1057 View Post
    IÂ’m just starting out trolling on Lake Erie. If anyone has any recommendations of brands and places to buy gear.

looking for ideas on planar boards, planar motors or manual wheels, rods and reels, rod holders, type of line, weight, lures , size and color. Anything else your willing to share... thanks in advance
    I figured I would pipe in here, as not a lot of responses on these types of questions.

Right from the start I would recommend on you buying the best quality equipment you can afford. You are going to have it for a while and it does not really wear out. On some stuff, the higher cost does not make it better than any other lower cost. Also you are going to find that this year is a very hard year to get some items, due to Covid. Diawa Rods are stuck in customs in shipping containers on the East Coast till August....

Next I would recommend you hit Bass Pro or Cabela's and actually touch the gear before you buy it. Feel, and perceived quality goes along way.