any chance of ice fishing on lake erie any chance of ice fishing on lake erie any chance of ice fishing on lake erie any chance of ice fishing on lake erie
    carp1234 Guest

Default any chance of ice fishing on lake erie

i am new to ice fishing this year and have just been on some ponds catching crappie but i would like to go on lake erie and get some pearch and/or walleye. Would like to know if there is safe ice and how i could find out for myself if there is safe ice without going out there to find out the hard way. any advice would be appreciated and any good locations to go if there is safe ice would be nice to thanks to all and good fishing

Smile Safe Ice

I've been waiting all winter to say we have it, and I am still holding my breath. There was an article in the Toledo Blade about a couple fisherman off Crane Creek and one of them twisted his ankle and needed rescue from the township Fire Dept to assist off the ice. He was 2 1/2 miles out, but they crossed over 2" in spots during the rescue. That means they walked-- no ATV or snowmobile. This weekend may be a ???????. But since your new to the sport I would not recommend it unless you have a party of guys to travel with for safety. I am going to go out there sat, but if no one shows I will not attempt it alone. I will take a spud for safety purposes and lighten my load. I will take a camera in case I am lucky.

Go to www.toledoblade.com. Search by Keywords-- "Crane Creek" to read article. Date of edition 2/25/08.

Everybody is OK

Fished out of Catawba Monday and today with zero results. Rode out about two miles west, then north a ways and walked the last half mile or so to 21 fow. Lousy ice, dirtier water, no hits. I wouldn't go out if I were you unless there are a number of others out there.

FishingBud Guest