New to Lake Erie New to Lake Erie New to Lake Erie New to Lake Erie

Default New to Lake Erie

Planning on making a trip to lake Erie October 9,10,11. if weather cooperates! I am new to lake Erie but not to walleye fishing. We were planning on camping at Catawba sate park but I know the ramp is down. I am looking for any help on where to launch, any other place to stay, where to fish for walleye, what to use this time of year on Erie. Or any other information you may be willing to share

Thanks
    Red

You can put in at the other state ramp at lakeside it's not far from where you are going to camp and be a short ride to Kelleys inland that ramp is right on the lake.They are taking walleye in that area east of the inland.If you are casting use worm harnesses you can stop at a bait store and they can fix you up with what you need they cost around $3.00 and your need sinkers 1/2 oz or 3/4 oz the boat ramp name is Mazurik, Lakeside Marblehead
    Last edited by wildturkey; 10-04-2018 at 08:28 AM.

Reside in Columbus, OH. Have place in Perrysburg, OH.

Red,

There is no camping at Catawba State Park. Just picnicking, sitting and enjoying the Lake, and a boat launch which is not currently operating. You'll have to camp over at East Harbor State Park, which may be what you meant to say. It's over on the east side of Catawba across from Catawba State Park, not far, about a 15 minute drive. You can easily get to the State Mazurik Boat Launch just east of the park. Walleye fishing is moving back into the Western Basin from the Central Basin (Cedar Point and Huron). Yes, east of Kelleys Island and north of Cedar Point should be good areas but good catches of walleye are starting out northwest of South Bass and Rattlesnake Islands. Ask around to get the latest reports as well as checking back here.