fluorocarbon leader fluorocarbon leader fluorocarbon leader fluorocarbon leader

Default fluorocarbon leader

guys im new to trolling and need some advice on fluorocarbon leaders. i am in the process in making some of these and i dont know which type to buy.I am thinking Saeguar but not sure which type; Premier, blue label, invizx? also what lb test would you recommend for the western basin?

thanks

HEY JEFF I RUN 30 lb FIRE LINE TO MY DIPPSEYS OFF THE BACK OF THE DIPPSEYS I RUN 20 LB BERKLEY VANISH FLOROCARBON SNAP SWIVLES ON BOTH ENDS ,DUE TO STEELHEAD HOOKUPS I HAVE HAD THEM THEM BREAK OFF WHEN USEING 14LB THE MAIN THING FOR ME IS KEEP YOUR DRAG LOOSE ENOUGH NOT TO SNAP YOUR LINE ON BIG RUNS, SNAGS, WHATEVER MAYBE
    AND WATCH THE GUYS YOU FISH WITH THAT THEY DONT TIGHTEN UP YOUR DRAG AND DONT LET THEM SET THE HOOK 9 TIMES OUT OF 10 I FIND THAT THE FISH ARE HOOKED UP FROM THE HIT BUT KEEP DIRECT PRESSURE ON THE FISH WITH THE ROD NO SLACK.

I ALSO USE THIS ON THE BACK OF MY STEEL LINE. ALL ABOUT 6-8' LONG

100's OF EYES AND THIS WORKS FOR ME.
    BURNIN DAYLIGHT

Jason thanks for the information, Is there an advantage to tying the fluorocardon direct to the lure?

And what about if you have a deep diving lure on and you are not using a dipsey. do you still use fluorocarbon tied to your 30lb braid?

Hey jeff if i am going to a crank bait directly i use a #8 eagle claw
    lazer power swivle rated for 50lb they are tiny there is no snap on it i tie fire line to one side then tie the florocarbon to the other end still about 6'-8' then a double lock snap at the other end and connect to the crank so that i can change the lure quick.

If you are going to a spinner or spoon then insted of the snap i would hook up a swivle and connect to that .

Good luck!
    BURNIN DAYLIGHT

if your not running dipseys I would run mono for flatlining, gives you some strech so your not ripping some mouths, you can run braid if you have some good reels with good drag on them.