Night Fishing Night Fishing Night Fishing Night Fishing

Thread: Night Fishing

Default Night Fishing

I am fairly new to walleye fishing on the Lake. I have fished at night in the spring, and I am thinking about night fishing during the summer. Due to my work & family schedule, it is easier for me to get out at night.

Do the fish remain in the same areas during the day and night in the summer? Or, do the fish move into shallower waters? I often use bottom bouncers and worm harnesses during the day in the summer - Do I need to switch tactics for night fishing?
    Thanks,
    Joe

Default night fishing

with the water warming to the mid to upper 70`s, fish move in slightly shallower at night but nowhere close to where they are in the spring. fish have been hitting between 50 to 60 feet during the day. Try 35 to 45 feet at night. I also use bottom bouncers and worm harnesses quite a bit and work well. dipsy divers on a 3 setting also work well. chartreuse has been a good color lately for me. have been getting reports of purple and black but havent had much luck with that combo. I do most of my fishing between evans bar and meyers reef. hope this helps.

I haven't been night fishing in a while but I used to troll with a rapela or flat fish. I'm showing my age. Last fall I seen many boats fishing with a small light on the ends of their poles (led)to detect a bite . When it's dark you can't run boards so your kind of locked into fishing in close and a limited number of rods. Depending on how many are on board. You have to go when you have to go. And anytime you get out there it's good. I believe the fish do come in at night to the shallows to feed. But alot depends on temperature. Sorry, not much help.

Hey Joe!!!!

They do tend to move in with the forage at night...depending what time you get out....