Lake Erie Downrigger Questions Lake Erie Downrigger Questions Lake Erie Downrigger Questions Lake Erie Downrigger Questions
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Lake Erie Downrigger Questions

I've been Walleye fishing with my father and son the past 4 years. Mostly dipsy divers, planer boards, jets etc. This year I would like to pick up a couple of downriggers. Plan on purchasing 2 Cannon Mag10 STX's. I'm new to downrigger fishing and have read quite a bit with regards to choosing the correct ball. Fish mainly the Dunkirk to Sturgeon Point area. My concern is downrigger blowback especially when I fish the deeper areas of the lake. We may even try for Steelhead and Salmon on Lake Ontario where this may come into more of a factor. I'm just trying to purchase the right ball set up right from the beginning. Any recommendations on weight, style or manufactures would be helpful?

Also thinking of spending the money to buy a Fishhawk X4D. Interested to hear your thoughts on the Fishhawk.

Unfortunately I don't have the time to fish every day and prefer to have my son figure the water out on his own. Want to give him a couple of new tools to use - he seems to get a kick out of putting dad and I on fish. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.

I use a torpedo style weight on my downrigger. I don't think you will need to worry too much about blowback because the deepest I have fished on erie is 80-100 ft and as long as you have 10 lb or so weights. Its also nice to have some smaller weights for shallower fishing (browns in spring and early walleyes or inland lakes). A guy on another fishing site makes the torpedos and they are great weights at a good price. They are not coated or anything when I get them but I spray them with the electrical tape in a can, black. I think they are 10-12 lb and have little blowback. I use blacks releases as they can be adjusted easily.