Geneva Geneva Geneva Geneva

Thread: Geneva

1. Default Geneva

I am new to trolling for walleye on Lake Erie. Have trolled for salmon for a number of years on Lake Ontario.

Will probably fish out of Geneva later in the season. Would Jet Divers work well off the planer boards? Or am I best to use lead core line?

Thanks for your help.

Default Geneva

Jets and the big boards work great up here. They say you can use the lead core with boards but I havent done that yet. The best seem to be the 50 Tru-trip jets but 40's work well also.

Quote Originally Posted by pittsburghfishing View Post
    I am new to trolling for walleye on Lake Erie. Have trolled for salmon for a number of years on Lake Ontario.

Will probably fish out of Geneva later in the season. Would Jet Divers work well off the planer boards? Or am I best to use lead core line?

Thanks for your help.
    40 and 50 size jets used as 40 first, then as the fish go deeper use the 50s. Then turn over to wire line with large diving stickbaits back 300-350 on wire line.
    Dipseys with spoons #1 (Luhrs Jen ) back 110 to 120 and #3 back 170-180. Geneva (central basin) action start late June some years, but I pick mid July through Labor Day for walleye. The wire line is single strand 10 pound.
    Copper line is used by some guys also. If you like worm harnesses for trolling they are used sometimes also behind the jets
    Water depth is in the 70 ft range with walleye holding 45-52
    We move one boat to Geneva for July and August for walleye trolling
    Last edited by gregnwtf; 03-24-2014 at 11:54 PM.
    Capt. Greg Hoyt
    419-890-2555 cell #
    Anchors Away Marina
    [email protected]