trolling spoons trolling spoons trolling spoons trolling spoons
Thanks Thanks:  0
Likes Likes:  0

Thread: trolling spoons

mrwalleye Guest

Default trolling spoons

I'm new to trolling lake erie and I was wondering which types/sizes of spoons seem to produce the best. I do not have a down rigger. I have fished lake erie quite a bit but I have always either jigged or casted for them, can someone help please.

Whit's Whaler Guest

Default Spoons

This is only my second year trolling on Erie for walleye, but this site was really helpful to me last year in getting started, so I'll try and pass on what I've learned as a rookie.

I have had the best luck with the Stinger spoons in the smaller "scorpion" size. I have talked to people who use both the smaller scorpions and the larger stingers and I think both work, but for me the scorpion size seems to catch more fish. Overall the most productive color/pattern has been copper melon, with orange crush and mass confusion seeming to be the next best color. We caught 12 walleye yesterday and the copper melon spoons caught about 2/3 of the fish and orange crush 1/3 (I was only pulling those two patterns yesterday). Later in the summer last year this fish seemed to like the "monkey puke" and "mass confusion" patterns better, instead of the copper melon that had worked earlier. It will be interesting to see if it changes again this year.