Trolling Question Trolling Question Trolling Question Trolling Question
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Default Trolling Question

Novice here asking a question about trolling. My buddy and I troll 4 lines with 2 being Offshore planer boards. When we hook a larger walleye (example-5-9lbs.) my buddy mentioned putting the kicker in neutral, allowing for less strain on hooked fish and line. I prefer to keep trolling (moving), keeping lines from sinking, tangling, unwanted drifting of boat. I've used the "keep moving" equation with success on several 8lb+ walleye. Any opinions here? I use 16# test line.
    Thanks guys
    Lund 1875 Sport Tyee
    Mercury Pro XS 150 4/stroke
    9.9 Pro Mercury kicker
    IPilot Ulterra 112
    Vessel View 703; Lowrance HD

90% of the walleye we bring in are landed with the boat moving the same as when we hooked them up.... trolling big boards, this also helps the fish center up between the other lines. However - when I know we've got a trophy coming in, I have been known to neutral up to help that fish come in.... but still bump forward enough to keep the boards and the other lines running right. I'll usually neutral up right as that fish approaches the back of the boat, especially if he is on the prop wash side (whichever engine I'm running....). Once in the net, forward we go again.
    Capt. Eric Litton
    614-679-2616
    37' Tollycraft "Pirate Clipper"
    www.eriecharter.com
    Lake Erie Fishing Charters
    Lake Erie Walleye Charters
    Lake Erie Charter Fishing

Quote Originally Posted by Capt Eric View Post