Radio and flares Radio and flares Radio and flares Radio and flares

Default Radio and flares

I will be fishing Lake Erie for the 1st time this spring and summer with my 18' Lund. Any recommendations for a radio and antenna combination? How about flares? Are the handheld ones adequate and meet USCG regs?

I've been using a handheld Cobra Marine HH350 for a few years now and it seems to work fine. It does not give the distance that I would like so I've been looking at going to a fixed mount with an 8ft antenna as my main radio and keeping the handheld as a back-up in case of a power failure.
    West Marine has some nice 'compact' marine radios that would fit better in smaller boats. I'm looking at the Standard Horizon GX1600.
    Your antenna is the key to distance/reception quality so dont skimp in that department ($150 for an upper mid range quality). Around $400 total for a good set up on a smaller boat.
    Hand flares do meet CG requirements (some). I use Day/Night approved ones. MAKE SURE YOU CHECK THE EXPIRATION DATE ON THE FLARES BEFORE YOU PURCHASE THEM. You'd be surprised how many are expired hanging on the shelves in some stores.

As Doenut said, the antenna is the most important part of your setup so be sure to do your research and given that the price difference between low end and high end is not that much (maybe $100 for an 8'antenna) , seriously consider the higher end. That's not to say that a cheap radio is a good thing. Standard horizon are great, I'd recommend a model that has a distress feature that allows you to press one button to send your coordinates to the Coast t Guard. It's something that you may rely on to save your life so it's well worth every penny.